Penfoul-plage-Thibault-Poriel

INSPIRATION 2024

Heading for the Iroise

2024, a year under the sign of the sea, gliding and sailing, with some great highlights: the Fêtes Maritimes de Brest, the Olympic Games and the 80th anniversary of the D-Day landings. An opportunity to look out together in the same direction, to the horizon from this beautiful balcony that is the Iroise.

INSPIRATION 2024

Maritime and sports year

Iroise on the front line

It's the call of Brittany: from the cliffs of Déolen to the dunes of Tréompan, l'Iroise welcomes you 20 minutes from Brest to one of the most beautiful balconies on the Breton coast, facing Ouessant, the Molène archipelago and the Crozon peninsula.

Arkea Ultim Challenge

offshore races

Single-handed circumnavigation

From Brest
When the Arkea Ultim Challenge skippers return on February 26, come and cheer them on at Pointe Saint-Mathieu, Fort de Bertheaume or along the Locmaria-Plouzané coastline. 

high point

Brest Maritime Festival

July 12 to 17, 2024

For the eighth edition, the Fêtes Maritimes de Brest will bring together over a thousand boats from all over the world, including traditional sailing ships, state vessels, scientific vessels, foreign flotillas... for 6 days of festivities that will give everyone the sailing bug. 

traditional-sailboat
(c) Ronan Gladu
JO2024

OLYMPIC GAMES 2024

June 7, the flame in Brest

Mark your calendars: the Olympic flame will be passing through Brest on June 7. And on the following day, sailor Armel Le Cléac'h will take the Olympic flame from Brest to the West Indies. Don't miss the start of this Relais des Océans!

Tour du Finistère à la voile 2024

event

Sailing around Finistère

Stopover in Lanildut on July 30

Organized by the Comité départemental de voile and supported by the Département du Finistère, the 38th edition of the Tour du Finistère à la voile will take place from July 29 to August 3, 2024.

This 100-boat regatta will call at Lanildut on July 30. Live the event!

all on the water

It's your turn to navigate

Water sports

Do you dream of being at the helm? Introducing yourself to an Olympic sport like surfing or rowing? The Mer d'Iroise is the ideal place to start. Private lessons and courses are available all year round.

Nautisme en Pays d'Iroise
Saint-Mathieu lighthouse

maritime safety

Visit a lighthouse

Exceptional lookouts

Since the 19th century, numerous lighthouses have protected sailors from the currents and reefs of the Mer d'Iroise. The Saint-Mathieu lighthouse, the Kermorvan lighthouse and the Trézien lighthouse on the mainland, as well as the Stiff lighthouse on Ouessant, welcome visitors all year round on their walkways, revealing a clever system of signage. At the top of the steps, the view is worth the candle!

The lighthouses at sea - Les Pierres Noires, Kéréon, Ar Men, Le Four... - can be approached on guided boat excursions.

birthday

Le Four lighthouse turns 150

1874 - 2024

It symbolically separates the Atlantic Ocean from the English Channel. Firmly anchored in the open sea, the Four lighthouse has weathered every storm since it was built just 150 years ago! From Le Conquet or Lanildut, experienced guides will take you to the lighthouse.

Le Four lighthouse

Amoco Cadiz

Open 7/7 with free access, the L'Ancre an eor museum in Portsall presents the circumstances surrounding the 1978 sinking of the Amoco Cadiz, which caused one of the worst oil spills in history. One of the supertanker's anchors is on display in the harbour, pointing towards the wreck lying on the seabed 4 km from the port.

tradition

Le Conquet, Portsall, Lanildut

From port to port

In 10 stages, discover the main ports of the Iroise and the hustle and bustle that reigns on the quayside when fishing boats and seaweed harvesters return home. Fancy a fresh spider crab? Head for the boat's "arse" in Le Conquet, where you'll meet the fishermen who have inherited a long family tradition. Further north, Lanildut is Europe's leading seaweed port and the ideal place to watch the seaweed being unloaded. More confidential, the port of Mazou in Porspoder is one of the rare ports in Brittany to have preserved the wooden piles used to moor boats... Unforgettable.

The turquoise sea along the GR34
Gîtes de Quéménès

practice

Find accommodation

The Tourist Office offers you an extensive catalog of accommodation - hotels, gîtes, B&Bs, campsites... - visited by us. Don't forget to book ahead!

Algae

BIODIVERSITY

Diving into the world of kelp

Seaweed House

The Iroise Sea is home to one of Europe's largest seaweed beds, with exceptional biodiversity thanks to waters churned by currents, shallow depths allowing light to penetrate, and rocky bottoms providing a foothold for kelp. Long renowned for their virtues, seaweed is used in an ever-growing variety of applications. Come to Lanildut and see how they are harvested! At the Maison de l'Algue, everything will be explained to you.

exploration

Diving in the Iroise Sea

First dives and introductory snorkeling courses will give you the keys to an unsuspected wealth of underwater treasures.

View of Ushant Island
Molène Island

from lighthouses to islands

Molène and Ouessant getaways

Leaving from Le Conquet or Lanildut, take a day trip to the bald island (Molène) or the island of five lighthouses (Ouessant) and come back refreshed.

We drop anchor...

from dream to reality

A walk in Treompan

Tréompan beach is a veritable nugget, with its vast expanse of white sand lapped by a turquoise sea. We dream of azure skies, and North Finistère has just what we need! 

Read the video about Tréompan beach in Ploudalmézeau, a large white sandy beach

Lighting

Nature and heritage walks

Accompanied by a guide, discover the flora and fauna of our region. 

Tour-de-bretagne-velo
(c) Sébastien Delaunay

event

Tour de Bretagne

The big start and 1st stage in Iroise

On April 25, 2024, the Pays d'Iroise will play host to the1st stage of the Tour de Bretagne, a veritable celebration of Breton cycling that has gained international renown since 1967. Departing from Locmaria-Plouzané, the 25 teams will cover 146 kilometers to Pointe Saint-Mathieu, before leaving Milizac-Guipronvel the following day to race through the other départements to Dinan, the finishing town at the end of a 7-day race.

The start on April 25 will be at 1pm, on route de Pen ar Menez, in Locmaria-Plouzané. From 9:30 a.m., a start village will welcome spectators with stands and entertainment. Throughout the stage, which will take riders through 19 towns including Saint Renan, classified as one of France's Most Beautiful Detours, Portsall, the Landunvez coastal road, Le Conquet and the Pointe de Corsen, the race will be broadcast on a giant screen at the Pointe Saint-Mathieu. The finish at Pointe Saint-Mathieu, scheduled for around 4:30pm, will be preceded by 6 crossings of the line by the racers, the highlight of the show. The walkway around the Saint-Mathieu lighthouse will be a superb vantage point from which to admire the race!

80th anniversary of the Liberation

inescapable

39/45 Memories Museum

The war as told by those who lived it

At Pointe Saint-Mathieu, a superb German command bunker restored by two passionate brothers brings together a rich collection of objects and eyewitness accounts that recreate the atmosphere of the war with rigor and emotion. A unique site.

Watch the video on Musée du Musée-Mémoires 39-45
39-45 Memories Museum

The Second World War has left lasting memories and material traces all over Iroise:

  • Running along the seafront from Pointe Saint-Mathieu, the Chemin de Mémoire (4 km) takes you past steles dedicated to missing sailors and the coastal remains of the famous Graf Spee Battery, to the large German command bunker that has become the Musée Mémoires 39-45.
  • Designed by Vauban to defend the Brest roadstead, Fort de Bertheaume was incorporated into the Atlantic Wall by the Wehrmacht, which installed cannons, mortars and machine guns.
  • From the Pointe du Grand Minou (Locmaria-Plouzané) to the Plage de Tréompan (Ploudalmézeau), via the Presqu'île de Kermorvan (Le Conquet), the presence of blockhouses will punctuate your discovery of the coastline. Inland, you'll also see them at Lochrist and Ploumoguer...
  • In Tréouergat, a stele pays tribute to the members of the Kergoff maquis, one of the largest in Finistère, which brought together almost 1,200 Resistance fighters.

zoom

Bertheaume Fort

A monument to discover

Incorporated into the Atlantic Wall by the German occupying forces, Fort de Bertheaume, designed by Vauban, offers a strategic position for history buffs and thrill-seekers alike! The adventure trail will be open from April 3. A medieval market will be held on May 11 and 12. Throughout the summer, the Fort will be open to the public 7 days a week, with a performance of the now-famous "Si Bertheaume m'était conté" every Wednesday evening.

Fort-de-Bertheaume

Penfoul-plage-Thibault-Poriel

INSPIRATION 2024

Cap sur l'Iroise

2024, une année sous le signe de la mer, de la glisse et de la navigation, avec de beaux temps forts : les Fêtes Maritimes de Brest, les Jeux Olympiques ou encore, le 80ème anniversaire du Débarquement. L’occasion de regarder ensemble dans la même direction, l’horizon depuis ce beau balcon qu’est l’Iroise.

INSPIRATION 2024

Année maritime et sportive

L'Iroise aux premières loges

C’est l’appel de la Bretagne : des falaises de Déolen aux dunes de Tréompan, l’Iroise vous accueille à 20 minutes de Brest sur un des plus beaux balcons du littoral breton, face à Ouessant, à l’archipel de Molène et à la presqu’île de Crozon.

Arkea Ultim Challenge

COURSEs AU LARGE

Tour du monde en solitaire

Au départ de Brest
Le dimanche 7 janvier, six skippers se sont élancés de Brest pour tenter un tour du monde inédit en solitaire de 40 000 km d’Ouest en Est à bord de leurs trimarans Ultim. Ils réaliseront cet exploit en 50 jours environ. À leur retour, venez nombreux les applaudir à la pointe Saint-Mathieu, au Fort de Bertheaume ou sur le littoral de Locmaria-Plouzané.

temps fort

Fêtes maritimes de Brest

Du 12 au 17 juillet 2024

Pour la huitième édition, les Fêtes Maritimes de Brest vont rassembler plus d’un millier de bateaux venus du monde entier, des voiliers traditionnels, des navires d’États, des bateaux scientifiques, des flottilles étrangères… durant 6 jours de fête qui donneront à tous le virus de la navigation. 

voilier-traditionnel
(c) Ronan Gladu
JO2024

JO 2024

Le 7 juin, la flamme à Brest

À vos agendas : la flamme olympique sera de passage à Brest le 7 juin. Et le lendemain, le navigateur Armel Le Cléac'h aura pour mission de conduire la flamme des Jeux depuis Brest jusqu’aux Antilles. Ne manquez pas le départ de ce Relais des Océans !

Tour du Finistère à la voile 2024

ÉvÉnement

Tour du Finistère à la voile

Escale à Lanildut le 30 juillet

Organisée par le Comité départemental de voile et soutenue par le Département du Finistère, la 38e édition du Tour du Finistère à la voile se déroulera du 29 juillet au 3 août 2024.

Cette régate qui rassemble une centaine de bateaux fera escale à Lanildut le 30 juillet. Vivez cet événementen direct !

tous sur l'eau

À vous de naviguer

Sports nautiques

Vous rêvez d’être à la barre ? De vous initier à un sport olympique comme le surf ou l’aviron ? La mer d’Iroise est le lieu idéal pour débuter. Cours particuliers et stages vous attendent toute l’année.

Nautisme en Pays d'Iroise
Phare de Saint-Mathieu

sÉcurité maritime

Visiter un phare

Vigies d'exception

Depuis le XIXème siècle, de nombreux phares protègent les marins contre les courants et les écueils de la mer d’Iroise. Le phare de Saint-Mathieu, le phare de Kermorvan et le phare de Trézien sur le continent, mais aussi le phare du Stiff à Ouessant, accueillent des visiteurs toute l’année sur leurs chemins de ronde en dévoilant un savant système de signalisation. Au sommet des marches, la vue en vaut la chandelle !

Les phares en mer – Les Pierres Noires, Kéréon, Ar Men, Le Four… – se laissent approcher lors d’excursions accompagnées en bateau.

anniversaire

Le phare du Four a 150 ans

1874 - 2024

Il sépare symboliquement l’océan Atlantique et la Manche. Solidement ancré en pleine mer, le phare du Four a résisté à toutes les tempêtes depuis sa construction il y a tout juste 150 ans ! Au départ du Conquet ou de Lanildut, des guides expérimentés vous conduisent jusqu’à lui.

Le phare du Four

Amoco Cadiz

Ouvert 7j/7 en accès libre, l'espace muséographique L'Ancre an eor à Portsall présente les circonstances du naufrage en 1978 de l'Amoco Cadiz qui provoqua l'une des plus graves marées noires de l'Histoire. Une des ancres du supertanker est exposée sur le port et pointe vers l'épave qui gît au fond de la mer à 4 km du port.

tradition

Le Conquet, Portsall, Lanildut

De port en port

En 10 étapes, découvrez les principaux ports de l’Iroise et l’ébullition qui règne à quai quand bateaux de pêche et goémoniers rentrent au bercail. Envie d’une araignée de mer toute fraîche ? Rendez-vous au « cul » du bateau au Conquet, à la rencontre des pêcheurs héritiers d’une longue tradition familiale. Plus au nord, Lanildut est le premier port goémonier d’Europe et l’endroit idéal pour assister au déchargement des algues. Plus confidentiel, le port de Mazou à Porspoder, est l’un des rares ports en Bretagne ayant conservé des pieux en bois auxquels on amarre les bateaux… Inoubliable.

La mer turquoise au bord du GR34
les Gîtes de Quéménès

pratique

Trouver un hébergement

L'Office de Tourisme vous propose un catalogue étoffé d'hébergements - hôtels, gîtes, chambres d'hôtes, campings... - visités par nos soins. Pensez à anticiper votre réservation !

Algues

BIODIVERSITÉ

Plongée dans le monde des laminaires

Maison de l'Algue

La mer d’Iroise abrite l’un des plus grands champs d’algues d’Europe, à la biodiversité exceptionnelle grâce à des eaux brassées par les courants, d’une faible profondeur laissant pénétrer la lumière et aux fonds rocheux qui offrent une prise aux laminaires. Réputées depuis longtemps pour leurs vertus, les algues sont utilisées dans des domaines de plus en plus variés. Venez à Lanildut voir comment elles sont récoltées ! À la Maison de l’Algue, tout vous sera expliqué.

exploration

Plongée en mer d'Iroise

Baptêmes de plongée et initiations à la randonnée palmée vous donneront les clés d’accès à des richesses sous-marines insoupçonnées.

Vue de l'île d'Ouessant
île de Molène

de phares en îles

Escapades à Molène et Ouessant

Au départ du Conquet ou de Lanildut, partez à la journée sur l’île chauve (Molène) ou sur l’île aux cinq phares (Ouessant) dont vous reviendrez revigorés.

On jette l'ancre...

du rÊve à la réalité

Balade à Tréompan

La plage de Tréompan est une véritable pépite avec sa vaste étendue de sable blanc brassée par une mer turquoise. Nous rêvons de ciel azur, le Finistère Nord va nous l’offrir ! 

Lire la vidéo sur La plage de Tréompan à Ploudalmézeau, une grande plage de sable blanc

Éclairage

Balades nature et patrimoine

Accompagnés d’un.e guide, partez à la rencontre de la faune et de la flore qui peuplent notre territoire. 

Tour-de-bretagne-velo
(c) Sébastien Delaunay

ÉvÉnement

Tour de Bretagne

Le grand départ et la 1ère étape en Iroise

Le 25 avril 2024, le Pays d’Iroise accueillera la 1ère étape du Tour de Bretagne, véritable fête du cyclisme breton qui a acquis depuis 1967 une notoriété internationale. Au départ de Locmaria-Plouzané, les 25 équipes parcourront 146 kilomètres jusqu’à la pointe Saint-Mathieu, avant de quitter Milizac-Guipronvel le lendemain pour s’élancer vers les autres départements jusqu’à Dinan, ville d’arrivée au terme de 7 jours de course.

Le départ le 25 avril aura lieu à 13h, route de Pen ar Menez, à Locmaria-Plouzané. Dès 9h30, un Village-départ accueillera les spectateurs avec des stands et des animations. Tout au long de l’étape qui emmènera les coureurs dans 19 communes dont Saint Renan classée parmi les Plus Beaux Détours de France, Portsall, la route côtière de Landunvez, le Conquet ou encore la pointe de Corsen, la course sera diffusée sur écran géant à la pointe Saint-Mathieu. L’arrivée à la pointe Saint-Mathieu prévue vers 16h30, sera précédée de 6 passages de la ligne par les coureurs, point d’orgue du spectacle. Pour l’admirer, le chemin de ronde du phare de Saint-Mathieu sera un superbe point d’observation !

80ème anniversaire de la Libération

incontournable

Musée Mémoires 39/45

La guerre racontée par ceux qui l'ont vécue

À la pointe Saint-Mathieu, un superbunker de commandement allemand restauré par deux frères passionnés réunit une riche collection d’objets et des témoignages qui restituent l’atmosphère de la guerre avec rigueur et émotion. Un lieu unique.

Lire la vidéo sur Musée du Musée-Mémoires 39-45
Musée Mémoires 39-45

La Seconde Guerre Mondiale a laissé des souvenirs tenaces et des traces matérielles partout en Iroise :

  • En longeant la mer au départ de la pointe Saint-Mathieu, le Chemin de Mémoire (4 km) vous conduira parmi les stèles dédiées aux marins disparus et les vestiges côtiers de la fameuse Batterie Graf Spee, jusqu’au grand bunker de commandement allemand devenu le Musée Mémoires 39-45.
  • Modelé par Vauban pour défendre la rade de Brest, le Fort de Bertheaume fut intégré au Mur de l’Atlantique par la Wehrmacht qui y installa canons, mortiers et mitrailleuses.
  • De la pointe du Grand Minou (Locmaria-Plouzané) à la plage de Tréompan (Ploudalmézeau) en passant par la Presqu’île de Kermorvan (Le Conquet), la présence de blockhaus ponctuera votre découverte du littoral. À l’intérieur des terres, vous en verrez également à Lochrist, et à Ploumoguer…
  • À Tréouergat, une stèle rend hommage aux membres du maquis de Kergoff, l’un des plus importants du Finistère qui rassembla près de 1 200 résistants.

zoom

Le Fort de Bertheaume

Un monument à découvrir

Intégré au Mur de l’Atlantique par l’occupant allemand, le Fort de Bertheaume modelé par Vauban offre une position stratégique aux férus d’Histoire et amateurs de sensations fortes ! Le parcours aventure sera accessible dès le 3 avril. Un marché médiéval s’y déroulera les 11 et 12 mai. Tout l’été, le Fort sera ouvert au public 7j/7, avec chaque mercredi soir, une représentation du désormais fameux : « Si Bertheaume m’était conté ».

Fort-de-Bertheaume