Bertheaume Fort

Historic sites and monuments
2021_Bertheaume_HS (1) FD
Bertheaume Fort
Visit Fort de Bertheaume Plougonvevlin (2)
Barnum Bertheaume

Why take advantage?

Built by Vauban in the 17th century on a rocky islet to watch over the port of Brest. The fort's geographical position meant that it could always keep an eye on the entrance to the Goulet de Brest, the arm of the sea linking Brest harbor to the Atlantic Ocean. Today, the fort is accessible via a footbridge and can be visited in summer.

For centuries, Brest's harbor has been a magnet for invaders. As early as the Middle Ages, protective posts were set up on the coast to control its entrance. The most effective of these was Bertheaume, a rocky islet thirty meters from the shore in Plougonvelin. In the 17th century, around 1690, at the request of Louis XIV, Vauban built a formidable fort here, which was used for military purposes until 1944.

At 37 meters high, Vauban wanted to protect Brest during the War of the League of Augsburg. He therefore installed three cannons and two mortars on the upper platform of the islet to control the Bertheaume cove, through which all ships entering or leaving Brest harbor still pass today. A wise decision: in June 1694, an English fleet attacked, but was greeted by a deluge of bombs from the fort, enough to repel them.

Bertheaume's usefulness was no longer in doubt, and Vauban's successors continued his work in the 18th and 19th centuries. Barracks, powder magazines and a perimeter wall were first installed, before the fort, then only accessible at low tide, was equipped with a footbridge in 1835, followed by casemates some fifty years later.

From 1940 to 1944, German troops used Bertheaume as one of their support points for the Atlantic Wall. The liberation of the islet in September 1944 marked the end of its military use, and it lay abandoned for over forty years before being bought back in 1990 by the commune of Plougonvelin, which opened it to visitors and organized regular exhibitions and sound and light shows retracing its history: Si Bertheaume m'était conté. Two zip lines and a climbing course have even been set up on the site: an opportunity to mix history and adventure! Bertheaume Iroise Aventure

Theme(s) : Maritime - Military

Main services

  • Groups of 15 people minimum
  • Pets allowed
Show all services

Main services

  • Groups of 15 people minimum
  • Pets allowed

Equipment

  • Bar
  • Restaurant
  • Projection room

Services

  • Store

On-site activities

  • Theme-specific animation
  • Workshop for adults
  • Children's workshop
  • Sound and Light

Spoken language(s)

  • French
  • English

We like

Ideal for : Heritage, couples, friends, children, young people, retirees
Suitable for : culture, see the sea
RatesPrice
(in €)
Base rate - Adult Full rate

from age 12

3.5€
Children's rate2€
Free
Group rate4.5€
- Visit to Bertheaume fort and access to the islet
- Treasure hunt: €5 / person aged 5 and over
- Pass: Visit to Bertheaume fort + Visit to Pays d'Iroise lighthouses (Saint Mathieu, Kermorvan, Trézien)
- Groups: 15 people minimum.

Means of payment

  • Payment cards
  • Bank and postal cheques
  • Vacation vouchers
  • Species

Opening hours

. Le Fort de Bertheaume se visite tous les jours en été de 11h00 à 18h00 du 6 juillet au 31 août 2024
. Visites guidées pour les groupes d'avril à septembre sur réservation au 02 98 38 03 81
. Le fort de Bertheaume peut être privatisé pour l’organisation de vos fêtes familiales (anniversaires, mariages…),
. Le barnum du Fort de Bertheaume peut-être loué d'avril à septembre

Historic sites and monuments

Bertheaume Fort

Rue de Bertheaume
29217 Plougonvelin
Getting there with Google Maps
SP031

Météo & marées

Fort de Bertheaume

Site et monument historiques
PCUBRE029CY00049
Visite Fort de Bertheaume Plougonvevlin (2)
Visite Fort de Bertheaume Plougonvevlin (3)
Fort de Bertheaume
Barnum Bertheaume

Pourquoi en profiter ?

Construit par Vauban au 17ème siècle sur un îlot rocheux afin de surveiller le port de Brest. Sa position géographique lui permet d'avoir toujours un œil sur l'entrée du goulet de Brest, bras de mer qui relie la rade de Brest à l'océan Atlantique. Aujourd'hui le fort est accessible par une passerelle et se visite en été

Pendant de longs siècles, la rade de Brest a attiré les convoitises des envahisseurs. Dès le Moyen-âge, des postes de protection ont donc été aménagés sur les côtes pour contrôler son entrée. Le plus efficace d’entre eux : Bertheaume, un îlot rocheux situé à trente mètres du rivage, à Plougonvelin. Au 17ème siècle, vers 1690, à la demande de Louis XIV, Vauban y a construit un redoutable fort, qui sera utilisé militairement jusqu’en 1944.

Haut de 37 mètres, Vauban désire protéger Brest pendant la guerre de la Ligue d’Augsbourg. Il installe alors, sur la plateforme supérieure de l’îlot, trois canons et deux mortiers destinés à contrôler l’anse de Bertheaume, où passent encore aujourd’hui tous les navires entrant ou sortant de la rade de Brest. Sage décision : en juin 1694, une flotte anglaise passe à l’attaque, mais est accueillie par un déluge de bombes en provenance du fort, qui suffit à la repousser.

L’utilité de Bertheaume ne fait alors plus l’ombre d’un doute, et les successeurs de Vauban poursuivent son travail aux 18ème et 19ème siècles. Casernes, poudrières et mur d’enceinte sont tout d’abord installés avant que le fort, alors uniquement accessible à marée basse, ne se dote d’une passerelle en 1835, puis de casemates une cinquantaine d’années plus tard.

Ces améliorations se retournent malheureusement contre les intérêts locaux, puisque les troupes allemandes font de Bertheaume, de 1940 à 1944, un de leurs points d’appui au Mur de l’Atlantique. La libération de l’îlot, en septembre 1944, signe la fin de son utilisation militaire : il reste à l’abandon pendant plus de quarante ans avant d’être racheté, en 1990, par la commune de Plougonvelin, qui l’ouvre aux visiteurs et y organise régulièrement des expositions et spectacles son et lumière retraçant son histoire : Si Bertheaume m'était conté ? Deux tyroliennes et un parcours d’escalade ont même été mis en place sur le site : l’occasion de mêler histoire et aventure ! Bertheaume Iroise Aventure

Thème(s) : Maritime - Militaire

Prestations principales

  • Groupe acceptés 15 personnes minimum
  • Animaux acceptés
Afficher toutes les prestations

Prestations principales

  • Groupe acceptés 15 personnes minimum
  • Animaux acceptés

Equipements

  • Bar
  • Restaurant
  • Salle de projection

Services

  • Boutique

Activités sur place

  • Animation thématique spécifique
  • Atelier pour adultes
  • Atelier pour enfants
  • Son et Lumière

Langue(s) parlée(s)

  • Français
  • Anglais
  • Espagnol
TarifsTarif min.
(en €)
Tarif max.
(en €)
Tarif de base - Adulte Plein tarif

à partir de 12 ans

3€5.5€
Tarif enfant1.5€3€
Gratuit
- Visite du fort de Bertheaume et accès à l'îlot - Chasse au trésor - Pass : Visite du fort de Bertheaume + Visite du Phare de Saint Mathieu ou du Phare de Trezien

Moyens de paiement

  • Cartes de paiement
  • Chèques bancaires et postaux
  • Chèques Vacances
  • Espèces
Site et monument historiques

Fort de Bertheaume

rue de Bertheaume
29217 Plougonvelin
M’y rendre avec Google Maps
SP031