Landunvez cycling route

ITINERANCE

Cycling on the Littorale V45 

The Littoral V45 cycle route on the north coast of Finistère is well worth the detour. Here, wild landscapes and charming villages unfold like in a film. From Morlaix to Brest, via the Iroise, we rode 300 kilometers over ten days. At our own pace, of course!

  • General public
  • Bike
  • 10 days
Morlaix - Brest

out to sea

Cycling along the coast from Morlaix to Brest

The V45, a cycle route to discover

We were familiar with the Nantes-Brest canal and the Loire à vélo, but not yet with the Littorale V45, which has only recently been signposted, and whose route is set to expand further in Brittany. So we set off on a 300 km itinerant route that follows the coastline as closely as possible. Leaving Morlaix, we headed for Saint-Pol de Léon, Roscoff, the Côte des Légendes, the Pays des Abers, then the Iroise before reaching Brest, our finishing town. Back to Morlaix: by train!

presentation

The V45 in Iroise

Route and sights

The V45 in Iroise is a cycle route that often runs alongside the sea, allowing you to discover a rocky dune coastline, cross an aber and mythical ports such as Portsall or Le Conquet.

Iroise tourist map

discovery

Cycling getaway

Iroise on the Lighthouse Route

From the Île Vierge lighthouse in Plouguerneau, we head west, where other lighthouses accompany us on our journey. On the Route des phares en Iroise, the pretty port of Portsall invites us to remember the sinking of the Amoco Cadiz (1978), which led to the implementation of measures to secure the maritime area. After a good night's sleep, we continued our adventure southwards along the fabulous Landunvez coastal road: on the horizon, the Four lighthouse has been protecting sailors for 150 years! In Lanildut, in the land of granite from which lighthouses are built, we stopped off at the Maison de l'Algue, dedicated to the harvesting of kelp. Aboard the Phine boat, we crossed the Aber Ildut before continuing on to the Pointe de Corsen, skirting the Porspaul dunes. We then headed for Le Conquet and the legendary Pointe Saint-Mathieu, with its ancient abbey and lighthouse, which we were able to visit.

To discover along the way...

Crossing the Aber Ildut by boat with Phine la Passeuse

GOOD PLAN

Cross the Aber Ildut by boat

To reach the other side of the Aber by boat, bookyour place on board the "Phine" boat with the harbor master at Lanildut (06 31 93 58 71) from Monday to Saturday from April to October, and 7 days a week in July and August.

PRACTICE

Accommodation near the cycle route

Guest houses, gîtes d'étapes, campsites

A wide choice of accommodation is available along the cycle route. They're very popular with hikers, so book well in advance!

Practice

Eating and drinking in Iroise near the cycle route

Good addresses

If you're going to spend your energy, you might as well eat well and discover the local specialities!

FRANCE VÉLO TOURISME

Accueil Vélo points

Peaceful travel

Located less than 5 km from the V45, Accueil Vélo outlets offer specially adapted facilities - secure bike shelters, repair kits - and a warm welcome to touring cyclists. 

on the shores of the iroise

North Finistère by bike

Littorale V45

To help cyclists travelling along the V45, the neighboring tourist offices - Pays des Abers, Côte des Légendes, Brest Métropole and Baie de Morlaix - have put together all the information they need on their websites.

Route touristique Landunvez vélo

ITINÉRANCE

À vélo sur la Littorale V45 

La véloroute Littorale V45 sur la côte nord du Finistère vaut largement le détour. Paysages sauvages et charmants villages défilent ici comme dans un film. De Morlaix à Brest en passant par l’Iroise, ce sont 300 kilomètres que nous avons parcourus en itinérance sur une dizaine de jours. À notre rythme bien-sûr !

  • Tout public
  • Vélo
  • 10 jours
Morlaix - Brest

vers le large

La côte à vélo de Morlaix à Brest

La V45, une véloroute à découvrir

Nous connaissions le canal de Nantes à Brest, la Loire à vélo, mais pas encore la Littorale V45, balisée depuis peu, et dont le tracé va encore s’étendre en Bretagne. Nous avons donc tenté l’aventure, en itinérance sur 300 km de route qui épouse autant que possible le trait de côte. Au départ de Morlaix, nous avons rejoint Saint-Pol de Léon, Roscoff, la Côte des Légendes, le Pays des Abers, puis l’Iroise avant d’atteindre Brest, notre ville d’arrivée. Retour à Morlaix : en train !

prÉsentation

La V45 en Iroise

Tracé et sites touristiques

La V45 en Iroise est une véloroute qui longe souvent la mer, permet de découvrir une côte rocheuse et dunaire, de traverser un aber et des ports mythiques comme Portsall ou le Conquet.

Carte touristique Iroise

dÉcouverte

Escapade à vélo

L'Iroise sur la Route des phares

Depuis le phare de l’île Vierge à Plouguerneau, cap vers l’ouest où d’autres phares nous accompagnent tout au long de notre périple. Sur la Route des phares en Iroise, le joli port de Portsall invite à se souvenir du naufrage de l’Amoco Cadiz (1978) qui a eu pour conséquence la mise en place de dispositifs pour sécuriser l’espace maritime. Après une bonne nuit de sommeil, nous avons poursuivi l’aventure vers le sud par la fabuleuse route côtière de Landunvez : à l’horizon, le phare du Four protège les marins depuis 150 ans ! À Lanildut, au pays du granit dont sont construits les phares, nous avons fait une halte à la Maison de l’Algue, dédiée à la récolte des laminaires. À bord du bateau Phine, nous avons pu traverser l’aber Ildut avant de continuer notre route vers la pointe de Corsen en longeant les dunes de Porspaul. Cap ensuite vers le Conquet et la pointe Saint-Mathieu, légendaire avec son ancienne abbaye et son phare que nous avons pu visiter.

À découvrir en chemin...

Traversée de l'Aber Ildut en bateau avec Phine la Passeuse

BON PLAN

Traverser l'aber Ildut en bateau

Pour rejoindre en bateau l'autre rive de l'aber, réservez votre place à bord du bateau "Phine" auprès du capitaine du port de Lanildut (06 31 93 58 71) du lundi au samedi d''avril à octobre et 7j/7 en juillet et en août.

PRATIQUE

Se loger près de la véloroute

Chambres d'hôtes, gîtes d'étapes, campings

Un large choix d’hébergements est proposé près de la véloroute. Ils sont très demandés par les randonneurs, mieux vaut réserver à l’avance !

Pratique

Se restaurer en Iroise près de la véloroute

Bonnes adresses

Quitte à se dépenser, autant bien manger et découvrir les spécialités locales !

FRANCE VÉLO TOURISME

Les points Accueil Vélo

Voyage serein

Situés à moins de 5 km de la V45, les points Accueil Vélo disposent d’équipements adaptés – abri vélo sécurisé, kit de réparation – et accueillent chaleureusement les cyclistes en itinérance. 

aux abords de l'iroise

Le Finistère nord à vélo

Littorale V45

Pour accompagner les cyclistes en itinérance sur la V45, les Offices de tourisme voisins – Pays des Abers, Côte des Légendes, Brest Métropole, Roscoff Côte des sables et Baie de Morlaix – ont réuni sur leurs sites internet toutes les informations utiles.