Kermorvan lighthouse

AUTHENTIC STOPOVER

Le Conquet, Trébabu

You can discover the town and its heritage, enjoy the beaches, stroll along the coast and through the surrounding countryside to the romantic valleys of Trébabu. Want to spend a day in Ouessant? A number of boats depart daily from Le Conquet. At sunset, you're guaranteed a magical sight, thanks to the ballet of lighthouses and lights at sea.

WALKING

Le Conquet, Petite Cité de Caractère® (Little City of Character)

Charm on the menu

The sloping streets lead down to the old quays, offering views of the sea. Some beautiful houses recall the rich past of this lively port, punctuated by the return of fishing boats and shuttle traffic to the islands of Molène and Ouessant.

the heritage port of Le Conquet
©Thibault Poriel
Le Conquet port heritage

HISTORY & CULTURE

A journey through time

A rich and prosperous town since the 10th century, Le Conquet has been visited many times by the Normans and the English. Its glorious maritime past is present throughout the town, in its stonework, in its houses nicknamed "English houses" or "Maison du Lion d'Or", in its old port, in its shops...

The Quai du Drellac'h and the Corniche du Drellac'h have also preserved a number of residences built by bourgeois, merchants and shipowners during the most prosperous periods of Le Conquet's maritime trade, including the "Maison des Seigneurs". Ten explanatory panels in enameled lava line the town to help you discover the historical and cultural heritage of Le Conquet, which was awarded the Petite Cité de Caractère® label in 2022.

ARTISTS & GALLERIES

A meeting place for artists and craftspeople

The small town of Le Conquet is particularly dynamic, with numerous shops and restaurateurs making it an attractive place to visit: delicatessens, souvenir and clothing stores... and art galleries share the doorsteps. Whatever the season, come and discover the talent of local artists.

Seafood platter

TESTIMONIAL

Tuesday is market day!

On the Place de Llandelo, commerce is in full swing: cheese makers, fishmongers, fruit and vegetable producers ... This is where I discovered Molène sausage!

like a local

Le Conquet, fishing port

See you at the auction

Don't miss the return of the many gillnetters, caseyeurs and trollers at the end of the day... Not a minute to lose, the stall is quickly set up, and the auction can begin. You couldn't ask for fresher fish! It's a great opportunity to meet the locals. With a fleet of 40 boats, this is France's second-largest fishing port for edible crab.

Fishing boat from Le Conquet
transport to Molene

EVASION

Departure for the islands

Molène and Ouessant

In all seasons, the port is bustling with the arrivals and departures of shuttles to the islands of Molène and Ouessant. The Penn ar Bed company runs weekly rotations 7 days a week all year round, while Finist'Mer comes on board in summer. It's also possible to board launches to discover the islands and the flora and fauna of the Parc Naturel Marin d'Iroise.

NATURE

Les Blancs Sablons

Between waves and dunes

Head for the Croaë footbridge for a stroll to the Kermorvan peninsula, its lighthouse and the dune site of the Pays d'Iroise's largest beach: Les Blancs Sablons. Here, swimmers, surfers and kite surfers share a beautiful playground.

 

 

Blancs Sablons beach in Le Conquet
©Franck Gicquiaud

GET REAL!

Pancakes, seafood, local cuisine

Discover our vitamin-packed spaces by the sea or in the heart of the village, where you'll feel right at home!

NATURE

The Kermorvan peninsula

or disconnection just a stone's throw from Le Conquet!

Make the most of a sunny day, and put on some good shoes. The islet offers breathtaking views of the port of Le Conquet, the islands of Molène and Ouessant and the vast bay of Blancs Sablons. What a pleasure to stroll here. Your steps will lead you to the fort on the islet, to the emblematic Kermorvan lighthouse at the end of its rocky headland, and why not to the porz Pabu beach, the only beach on the peninsula.  

Keep an eye out for playful dolphins or seals in search of fish in the currents offshore.

 

Kermorvan peninsula
kermorvan lighthouse

sentinel

Kermorvan lighthouse

West-most lighthouse ashore

It's a quick ascent, and almost half the height of the Trezien or Saint-Mathieu lighthouses. What makes it special? Its square tower houses the living quarters of the former lighthouse keepers. From here, it feels like the end of the world. From the chemin de ronde, the view is unique: from the pointe Saint-Mathieu to the pointe de Corsen, you'll never be so close to the fearsome currents of the chenal du Four. Don't miss out on the tide or you'll be on your way.

NATURE

Ria du Conquet

a vast salt meadow, a bird's paradise

In autumn, winter and spring, many migratory birds stop here, sheltered from the prevailing winds. Observation posts are available along a birdwatching trail. Be discreet and keep your eyes peeled! Curlews, spoonbills, grey herons, turnstones, redshanks, oystercatchers, shelducks and sandpipers nest or frequent the ria, depending on the season.

The Conquet ria
©Thibault Poriel
Ria du Conquet

NATURE

Lanfeust Wood

Suspended time

Head for the far end of the ria, where the wooded banks of the Kerjean pond offer the promise of beautiful walks. The small country roads and sunken lanes of Trébabu will take you to the Moulin d'en bas, the old Moulin de Kerléo or the Chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Val (Itron-Varia-an-Traon).

PEPITE

Off the beaten track

In Trébabu

Surprise, surprise! Open to visitors every day, the Notre-Dame du Val chapel in Trébabu is home to an unusual statue of the Virgin Mary holding a fig in her right hand. Stolen in 1977, the statue was found 28 years later in a church in Solliès-Pont, the capital of the fig! 

Other anecdotes will be told by Cathy Collet, a member of the Greeters network, during a themed walk around her home in Trébabu.

Notre-Dame du Val chapel

ACCOMMODATION

Our selection

Hotels, self-catering cottages, B&Bs... Here are our suggestions for accommodation in Le Conquet for a successful vacation!

See the full offer below.

How do I get there?
Getting there with Google Maps

Météo & marées
Le phare de Kermorvan

ESCALE AUTHENTIQUE

Le Conquet, Trébabu

Vous pourrez selon vos envies, découvrir la ville et son patrimoine, profiter des plages, vous promener le long des côtes et dans la compagne environnante jusqu’aux vallons romantiques de Trébabu. Au coucher du soleil, spectacle féérique garanti, grâce au ballet des phares ou des feux en mer.

INCONTOURNABLE

Le Conquet et ses alentours

Le charme au rendez-vous

Les ruelles pentues descendent vers les vieux quais et offrent des points de vue sur la mer. Quelques très belles maisons rappellent le riche passé de ce port animé, rythmé par les retours de pêche et le trafic des navettes pour les îles de Molène et Ouessant.

le port patrimonial du Conquet
Le port du Conquet
Le patrimoine du port du Conquet
Le Conquet centre-ville

HISTOIRE & CULTURE

Une balade dans le temps

Ville riche et prospère dès le Xème siècle, Le Conquet a maintes fois reçu la visite des Normands ou des Anglais. Son glorieux passé maritime est présent dans toute la ville, dans ses pierres, dans ses maisons surnommées « maisons anglaises » ou « Maison du Lion d’Or» dans son vieux port, dans ses commerces…

Le quai du Drellac’h et la corniche du Drellac’h ont aussi conservé quelques demeures construites par des bourgeois, négociants ou armateurs aux époques les plus prospères du commerce maritime du Conquet dont la « Maison des Seigneurs ». Dix panneaux explicatifs en lave émaillée jalonnent la ville pour vous faire découvrir le patrimoine historique et culturel du Conquet. 

ARTISTES & GALERIES

Le rendez-vous des artistes & des artisans

La petite ville du Conquet est particulièrement dynamique, de nombreux commerces et restaurateurs en font un lieu attractif : épicerie fine, magasins de souvenirs ou de vêtements… et galeries d’art se partagent les pas de portes. En toute saison, venez découvrir le talent des artistes locaux.

Plateau de Fruits de mer

TÉMOIGNAGE

Le mardi, c’est jour de marché !

Sur la place de Llandelo, le commerce bat son plein : fromagers, poissonniers, producteurs de fruits et légumes… C'est ici que j’ai découvert la saucisse de Molène !

LIKE A LOCAL

Le Conquet, port de pêche

rendez-vous à la criée !

À ne pas rater, le retour de pêche des nombreux fileyeurs, caseyeurs et ligneurs en fin de journée… Pas une minute à perdre, l’étal est rapidement installé, la vente à la criée peut commencer. On ne peut pas rêver de poisson plus frais ! L’occasion de vivre un moment privilégié à la rencontre des habitants. La flottille composée de 40 bateaux en fait le second port de pêche français pour la pêche au tourteau.

Bateau de pêche du Conquet
Le port de Pêche du Conquet
transport pour Molene

ÉVASION

Départ pour les îles

Molène et Ouessant

En toute saison, le port s’anime au gré des départs et des arrivées des navettes pour les îles de Molène et Ouessant. La compagnie Penn ar Bed effectue des rotations hebdomadaires 7J/7 toute l’année, tandis que la Finist’Mer vient en renfort dès la belle saison. Il est également possible d’embarquer sur des vedettes à la découverte des îles, de la faune et de la flore du Parc Naturel Marin d’Iroise.

NATURE

Les Blancs Sablons

entre vagues et dunes

Direction la passerelle du croaë (passerelle piétonne) pour une balade vers la presqu’île de Kermorvan, son phare et le site dunaire de la plus grande plage du Pays d’Iroise : Les Blancs Sablons. Là-bas, baigneurs, surfeurs et kite surfeurs se partagent un terrain de jeu de toute beauté.

 

 

La plage des Blancs Sablons au Conquet
©Franck Gicquiaud

NATURE

La presqu’île de Kermorvan

ou la déconnexion à deux pas du Conquet !

Profitez d’une belle journée ensoleillée, chaussez de bonnes chaussures. L’îlot offre quelques vues imprenables sur le port du Conquet, sur les îles de Molène et Ouessant ou sur la vaste baie des blancs sablons. Quel plaisir de s’y balader. Vos pas vous mèneront au fort de l’îlette, au phare emblématique de Kermorvan au bout de sa pointe rocheuse et pourquoi pas à la plage de porz Pabu, unique plage de la presqu’île.  

Soyez attentifs, au large, dans les courants, il n’est pas rare d’apercevoir des dauphins joueurs ou des phoques en quête de poissons.

 

La presqu'ile de Kermorvan

SENTINELLE

Le phare de Kermorvan

Phare à terre le plus à l'ouest

L’ascension est rapide, il est presque deux fois moins haut que les phares de Trezien ou Saint-Mathieu. Sa particularité ? Sa tour carrée abrite les pièces d’habitation des anciens gardiens de phare. D’ici, vous avez une sensation de bout du monde. Sur le chemin de ronde, le vue est unique, de la pointe Saint-Mathieu à la pointe de Corsen, vous ne serez jamais aussi près des redoutables courants du chenal du Four. Pas question de rater l’heure de la marée sous peine de devoir passer son chemin.

 

le phare de Kermorvan

NATURE

La Ria du Conquet

vaste pré salé, paradis des oiseaux

A l’automne, en hiver et au printemps, de nombreux oiseaux migrateurs y font escale à l’abri des vents dominants. Des postes d’observation sont à votre disposition le long d’un parcours ornithologique. Soyez discrets et ouvrez l’œil ! Courlis cendrés, spatules blanches, hérons cendrés, tournepierre à collier, chevaliers gambettes, huitriers-pies, tadornes de belon et autres bécasseaux nichent ou fréquentent la ria selon les saisons.

La ria du Conquet
©Thibault Poriel
Spatule

NATURE

Le bois de Lanfeust

ici, le temps semble suspendu

Direction le fond de la ria, où les rives de l’étang de Kerjean, très boisées, laissent présager de belles balades. Les petites routes de campagne et les chemins creux de Trébabu vous mèneront au moulin d’en bas, à l’ancien Moulin de Kerléo ou à la Chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Val (Itron-Varia-an-Traon).

Comment venir ?
M’y rendre avec Google Maps